Labor Scorecard : Senate

Senate Labor Scorecard

Name State Percentage Grade VOTE 222VOTE 2VOTE 194VOTE 192VOTE 190VOTE 103VOTE 101
Mark Begich (D) AK 0% F X XXXXX
Jeff Sessions (R) AL 100% A+
Richard Shelby (R) AL 100% A+
John Boozman (R) AR 100% A+
Lisa Murkowski (R) AR 14% D XXXXXX
Mark Pryor (D) AR 0% F XXXXXXX
Jeff Flake (R) AZ 100% A+
John McCain (R) AZ 86% B+ X
Barbara Boxer (D) CA 0% F XXXXXXX
Dianne Feinstein (D) CA 0% F XXXXXXX
Michael Bennet (D) CO 0% F XXXXXXX
Mark Udall (D) CO 0% F XXXXXXX
Richard Blumenthal (D) CT 0% F XXXXXXX
Christopher Murphy (D) CT 0% F XXXXXXX
Thomas Carper (D) DE 0% F XXXXXXX
Christopher Coons (D) DE 0% F XXXXXXX
Bill Nelson (D) FL 0% F XXXXXXX
Marco Rubio (R) FL 86% B+ X
Saxby Chambliss (R) GA 86% B+ X
Johnny Isakson (R) GA 86% B+ X
Mazie Hirono (D) HI 0% F XXXXXXX
Brian Schatz (D) HI 0% F XXXXXXX
Chuck Grassley (R) IA 100% A+
Tom Harkin (D) IA 0% F XXXXXXX
Mike Crapo (R) ID 100% A+
James Risch (R) ID 100% A+
Richard Durbin (D) IL 0% F XXXXXXX
Mark Kirk (R) IL 86% B+ X
Daniel Coats (R) IN 86% B+ X
Joe Donnelly (D) IN 0% F XXXXXXX
Jerry Moran (R) KS 100% A+
Pat Roberts (R) KS 86% B+ X
Mitch McConnell (R) KY 100% A+
Rand Paul (R) KY 100% A+
Mary Landrieu (D) LA 0% F XXXXXX 
David Vitter (R) LA 100% A+
William Cowan (D) MA Inc. Inc.        
Ed Markey (D) MA 0% F XXXXXXX
Elizabeth Warren (D) MA 0% F XXXXXXX
Benjamin Cardin (D) MD 0% F XXXXXXX
Barbara Mikulski (D) MD 0% F XXXXXXX
Susan Collins (R) ME 57% C- XXX
Angus King (I) ME 14% D XXXXXX
Carl Levin (D) MI 0% F XXXXXXX
Debbie Stabenow (D) MI 0% F XXXXXXX
Al Franken (D) MN 0% F XXXXXXX
Amy Klobuchar (D) MN 0% F XXXXXXX
Roy Blunt (R) MO 100% A+
Claire McCaskill (D) MO 0% F XXXXXX 
Thad Cochran (R) MS 100% A+
Roger Wicker (R) MS 100% A+
Max Baucus (D) MT 0% F XXXXX  
Jon Tester (D) MT 0% F XXXXXXX
John Walsh (D) MT 0% F      XX
Richard Burr (R) NC 100% A+
Kay Hagan (D) NC 0% F XXXXXXX
Heidi Heitkamp (D) ND 0% F XX   XX
John Hoeven (R) ND 100% A+
Deb Fischer (R) NE 100% A+
Mike Johanns (R) NE 100% A+
Kelly Ayotte (R) NH 71% B- XX
Jeanne Shaheen (D) NH 0% F XXXXXXX
Cory Booker (D) NJ 0% F  X   XX
Jeff Chiesa (R) NJ 100% A+       
Frank Lautenberg (D) NJ Inc. Inc.        
Robert Menendez (D) NJ 0% F XXXXXXX
Martin Heinrich (D) NM 0% F XXXXXXX
Tom Udall (D) NM 0% F XXXXXXX
Dean Heller (R) NV 71% B- XX
Harry Reid (D) NV 17% D XX XXX
Kristen Gillibrand (D) NY 0% F XXXXXXX
Charles Schumer (D) NY 0% F XXXXXXX
Sherrod Brown (D) OH 0% F XXXXXXX
Rob Portman (R) OH 57% C- XXX
Tom Coburn (R) OK 100% A+   
James Inhofe (R) OK 100% A+  
Jeff Merkley (D) OR 0% F XXXXXXX
Ron Wyden (D) OR 0% F XXXXXXX
Robert Casey (D) PA 0% F XXXXXXX
Patrick Toomey (R) PA 100% A+
Jack Reed (D) RI 0% F XXXXXXX
Sheldon Whitehouse (D) RI 0% F XXXXXXX
Lindsey Graham (R) SC 100% A+
Tim Scott (R) SC 100% A+
Tim Johnson (D) SD 0% F XXXXXXX
John Thune (R) SD 100% A+  
Lamar Alexander (R) TN 86% B+ X
Bob Corker (R) TN 100% A+
John Cornyn (R) TX 100% A+  
Ted Cruz (R) TX 100% A+  
Orrin Hatch (R) UT 100% A+  
Mike Lee (R) UT 100% A+
Tim Kaine (D) VA 0% F XXXXXXX
Mark Warner (D) VA 0% F XXXXXXX
Patrick Leahy (D) VT 0% F XXXXXXX
Bernard Sanders (I) VT 0% F XXXXXXX
Maria Cantwell (D) WA 0% F XXXXXXX
Patty Murray (D) WA 0% F XXXXXXX
Tammy Baldwin (D) WI 0% F XXXXXXX
Ron Johnson (R) WI 100% A+
Joe Manchin (D) WV 0% F XXXXXXX
John Rockefeller (D) WV 14% D XXXXXX
John Barrasso (R) WY 100% A+
Michael Enzi (R) WY 100% A+


Grade Scale

100%………………………….. A+
95% – 99%………………….. A
90% – 94%………………….. A-

85% – 89%………………….. B+
80% – 84%………………….. B
70% – 79%………………….. B-

65% – 69%………………….. C+
60% – 64%………………….. C
50% – 59%………………….. C-

31% – 49%………………….. D+
11% – 30%………………….. D
1% – 10%……………………. D-

0%……………………………… F


Votes in the current Congress score include:

Paycheck Fairness Act of 2014

VOTE: 103

Bill: S. 2199

Bill Sponsor: Sen. Barbara Mikulski

CEI Position: NO

Motion to Invoke Cloture on the Motion to Proceed to S. 2199, a bill that amends the portion of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (FLSA) known as the Equal Pay Act to revise remedies for, enforcement of, and exceptions to prohibitions against sex discrimination in the payment of wages.

Emergency Unemployment Compensation Extension Act of 2014

VOTE: 101

Bill: H.R. 3979

Bill Sponsor: Rep. Lou Barletta

CEI Position: NO

A measure to extend emergency unemployment compensation.

Emergency Unemployment Compensation Act


Bill: S. 1845

Bill Sponsor: Sen. Jack Reed

CEI Position: NO

Motion to Invoke Cloture on the Motion to Proceed to S. 1845(Emergency Unemployment Compensation Extension Act), a bill to provide for the extension of certain unemployment benefits, and for other purposes.

Retail investor Protection Act

Roll Call: 567

Bill: H.R. 2374

Bill Sponsor: Rep. Ann Wagner

CEI Position: YES

H.R. 2374 Prohibits the Secretary of Labor from prescribing any regulation under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) defining the circumstances under which an individual is considered a fiduciary until 60 days after the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) issues a final rule governing standards of conduct for brokers and dealers under specified law.

On the Confirmation of Nominee Richard Griffin to be general counsel of the National Labor Relations Board

VOTE: 222

Nomination Number: PN789

CEI Position: NO

On the Confirmation of Nominee Kent Yoshiho Hirozawa, of New York, to be a Member of the National Labor Relations Board

VOTE: 190

Nomination Number: PN679

CEI Position: NO

On the Confirmation of Nominee Nancy Jean Schiffer, of Maryland, to be a Member of the National Labor Relations Board

VOTE: 192

Nomination Number: PN680

CEI Position: NO

On the Confirmation of Nominee Mark Gaston Pearce, of New York, to be a Member of the National Labor Relations Board

VOTE: 194

Nomination Number: PN266

CEI Position: NO

Preventing Greater Uncertainty in Labor-Management Relations Act

Roll Call: 101

Bill: H.R. 1120

Bill Sponsor: Rep. Phil Roe

CEI Position: YES

H.R. 1120 would prohibit the National Labor Relations Board from undertaking activity that requires a quorum of the members of the Board. Further, the bill would prohibit the Board from implementing, administering, or enforcing any decisions finalized on or after January 4, 2012. Those prohibitions would terminate when either all members for the Board are confirmed by the Senate in a number sufficient to constitute a quorum, when the Supreme Court issues a decision as to the constitutionality of the appointments made to the Board in January 2012, or when the first session of the 113th Congress adjourns sine die.

Questions regarding the scorecard can be directed to CEI Labor Policy Counsel F. Vincent Vernuccio at or 202-331-1010